EU stops funding to six towns that declare themselves ‘LGBT-free zones’


Following the announcement on Thursday, the European Commission said the EU stood for the equality of all its people.

“EU values and fundamental rights must be respected by Member States and state authorities,” European Commissioner for Equality, Helena Dalli, wrote on Twitter.

“This is why six town-twinning applications involving Polish authorities that adopted ‘LGBTI free zones’ or ‘family rights’ resolutions were rejected,” she added.

The towns, which are yet to be named, have asked to join the EU’s twinning programme which links different towns together “to guarantee peaceful relations” and “reinforce mutual understanding and friendship” between European citizens.