Ceremony marking new European Commission and 10 years of Lisbon Treaty

The European Union’s new leaders officially started in their positions on Sunday, December 1, which also coincided with the 10th anniversary of the Lisbon Treaty.

EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen’s College of Commissioners won approval in a confirmatory vote at the EU Parliament earlier this week following weeks of delays after several member states’ proposed commissioners were rejected.

The EU Council presidency also changed hands as Donald Tusk was replaced by former Belgian prime minister Charles Michel.

EU Parliament President David Sassoli, who was elected in July this year, was joined by von der Leyen and Michel, as well as European Central Bank President Christine Lagarde, at Sunday’s event.

MORE: https://www.euronews.com/2019/12/01/ceremony-marking-new-european-commission-and-10-years-of-lisbon-treaty